COVID-19 surveillance to enable early detection and response to outbreaks: National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) mandatory data collection

Mary MadisonClient News, TrainingLeave a Comment

Topic: COVID-19 Surveillance to Enable Early Detection and Response to Outbreaks: National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) Mandatory Data Collection

Date: Thursday, August 6, 2020

Time: 4:00 – 5:00 PM ET

Advance Registration Required: Register here.

Note: Once you register, you will receive an email with your individual link to join the webinar. The link you receive will only work for one user. Please forward this email to other team members if you would like them to attend so they can register.

The webinar audio will stream through your computer speakers. For the best experience, be sure to have headphones or your volume turned up. We recommend closing any other applications that may be open, especially those that use up bandwidth.


Open to nursing home leaders, clinical and administrative staff members and others interested in nursing home infection prevention in the era of COVID-19.

Series Description:

The National CMS/CDC Nursing Home COVID-19 Training is brought to you by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and the QIO Program, a national network of Quality Innovation Network-Quality Improvement Organizations (QIN-QIOs) serving every state and territory.

Invitations are distributed weekly for each training in the series. Sign up here for updates.

Miss a training? View recordings, slides and resources on

Following today's call, participants will possess the knowledge and approaches for remaining current in federal guidance and reporting requirements as well as the importance of conducting regular outcome and process surveillance.

During this webinar, participants will receive an overview of the following:

  • Brief overview of federal reporting requirements and information on where to access the most up-to-date information and guidance
  • Understand and recognize the purpose of, and key elements necessary for, ongoing COVID-19 surveillance
  • Understand how a facility should use surveillance data for the prevention, early detection, and mitigation of a potential COVID-19 outbreak
  • How to collect, enter, and submit data to the NHSN COVID-19 LTCF COVID-19 Module, including assigning a dedicated Infection Preventionist to conduct ongoing facility-wide surveillance
  • Understand how HHS, CMS and CDC use data reported to the CDC NHSN LTCF COVID-19 Module
Meet the Speakers:

Angela Anttila, PhD, MSN, NPC, CIC
Nurse Epidemiologist for National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN), Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Linda Behan BSN, RN, CIC
Sr. Director of Infection Prevention and Control
Genesis HealthCare

Continuing Education Credits:

The National Nursing Home Training Series is not accredited by CMS. You can follow up with your association or accrediting body to see if it awards credit for participation in these trainings. Continuing education credits may be awarded by some organizations for participation in CMS trainings.

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Continuing Education (CMSCE) Accreditation Statements:

Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME)

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

ACCME accreditation seeks to assure the medical community and the public that the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services provides physicians with relevant, effective, practice-based continuing medical education that supports US health care quality improvement.

The ACCME employs a rigorous, multilevel process for evaluating institutions' continuing medical education programs according to the high accreditation standards adopted by all seven ACCME member organizations. These organizations of medicine in the U.S. are the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies, and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the U.S., Inc.

International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET)

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services is accredited by the International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET). The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services complies with the ANSI/IACET Standard, which is recognized internationally as a standard of excellence in instructional practices. As a result of this accreditation, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services is authorized to issue the IACET CEU.

Want to keep up with the changing COVID-19 situation in skilled nursing?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *